• Roundup

Dublin-based Belfast cyclist best in Navan

Wednesday, 10th March, 2010 4:52pm
Jump to comments
Dublin-based Belfast cyclist best in Navan

Sponsor Philip Cassidy presented the Cycleways Cup to Adam Armstrong on Sunday following a successful event organised by Navan Road Club.

Adam Armstrong from Belfast who rides for the Dublin-based Eurocycles team was the deserving winner of the Navan Road Club-promoted Cycleways Cup held over 70 miles of the testing Kilberry-Slane-Woodtown circuit on Sunday.

Armstrong beat his fellow breakaway rider Neil Delahaye of Usher Irish Road Club in a close sprint with Tralee's Sean Lacey third ahead of Conor Murphy of Eurocycles.

The main race was a very fast affair and evergreen sponsor Philip Cassidy made an early break. However, Steven Barrett of Planet X led the field for 10 miles before he was overhauled by the eventual winning break of 16 riders.

The testing climbs at Slane caused the breakaway group to fragment on the last lap and Armstrong waited until the very end to make his move.

In the supporting races there was good local success with Michael Healy (Bohermeen) Simon O'Dea (Navan) finishing second and ninth respectively in the very competitive A4 race.

Colm Farrell (Navan) made his experience count as he finished an excellent sixth in the A3 race despite a slow puncture near the finish.

Close to 300 cyclists took part in the race.

Navan chairman Matt Nolan paid tribute to the Gardai for their co-operation. "The Traffic Corps motorcycle Gardai were brilliant throughout the race and ensured a safe event for all concerned," he stated.

The chairman also paid tribute to the local Civil Defence personnel and all the club members who gave up their day to marshal and assist at the event.


Cycleways Cup - 1, Adam Armstrong (Eurocycles); 2, Neil Delahaye (Usher IRC); 3, Sean Lacey (Team Edge); 4, Conor Murphy (Eurocycles); 5, Thomas Martin (Eurocycles); 6, Paul Mulligan (Eurocycles).

A3 race - 1, Ciaran O'Sullivan (Donegal); 2, John Maguire (SERC); 3, Brendan Whelan (Lucan); 4, Paul Kennedy (Swords); 5, Eddie Sweeney (Donegal); 6, Colm Farrell (Navan).

A4 race - 1, Stephen Lynch (Usher); 2, Michael Healy (Bohermeen); 3, Craig Arrigan (Orwell); 4, Simon O'Dea (Navan).


Moynalty Cycling Club members completed a 36-mile route on Saturday morning through Kingscourt and Bailieboro, but instead of going around the mountain the riders went over it!

Leon Keuck was like a Springbok as he negotiated the undulating terrain and Pat Reilly kept with him all the way - the rest of the group made it up to the top at a more leisurely pace.

The sprint finish into Moynalty was a battle among seven riders with Ken Maloney taking the honours.

Keuck will travel to South Africa next weekend to compete in the Moynalty Cycling Club colours in the Cape Town Cycle Challenge.

The club meets at 10.0 every Saturday morning in Moynalty - new members of all abilities are welcome.

Latest Video

Offaly Independent-Read in full for FREE. Subscribe here.

Post a Comment

Cookies on Offaly Independent website
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. We also use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on the Offaly Independent website. However, if you would like to, you can change your cookie settings at any time by amending your browser settings.
How does Offaly Independent use cookies?
Cookies enable us to identify your device, or you when you have logged in. We use cookies that are strictly necessary to enable you to move around the site or to provide certain basic features. We use cookies to enhance the functionality of the website by storing your preferences, for example. We also use cookies to help us to improve the performance of our website to provide you with a better user experience.
We donít sell the information collected by cookies, nor do we disclose the information to third parties, except where required by law (for example to government bodies and law enforcement agencies).
Hide Message