Rhode star Kellaghan captains St Joseph's to Leinster glory

Pictured above: St Joseph’s Rochfortbridge captain Aaron Kellaghan with the Bro. Bosco Cup alongside coaches John Rouse (left) and Luke Dempsey and Leinster GAA chairman Pat Teehan (right).

Rhode's Aaron Kellaghan captained St Joseph's Rochfortbridge to a historic success in the Leinster Schools SF 'A' final last Friday.

St Joseph's defeated defending champions Naas CBS in the final at Bord na Móna O'Connor Park, Tullamore on a scoreline of 2-13 to 0-15.

Afterwards, Aaron (son of former Offaly star Paschal) was presented with the Bro. Bosco Cup, with Leinster GAA chairman and Coolderry native Pat Teehan making the presentation.

Kellaghan played a key role throughout the Westmeath school's successful campaign and he scored two points in last Friday's decider, which was originally meant to be played in March.

Evan Rigney of St Brigid’s was introduced as a substitute and Rhode's Cian Murphy was also part of the St Joseph's panel.

There was also Offaly involvement in the management team, with Tullamore's John Rouse part of the set-up along with Luke Dempsey and Damien Rushe.

Indeed, team manager Dempsey was full of praise for the contribution of Rouse afterwards.

"I think the greatest achievement by the school from a football point of view was the employment of John Rouse from Tullamore when he came from Knockbeg. He has just been a marvellous help," said Dempsey.

It was the first time for the Rochfortbridge school to win the Leinster crown as they denied Naas a third title in a row.

In an exciting game, played in front of a small attendance due to Covid-19 restrictions, the St Joseph's goals were scored by Devin Hill and Brandon Kelly (penalty).


St Joseph’s: B Kelly 1-3 (1-0pen), D Hill 1-1, J Torpey 0-3, A Kellaghan 0-2, S Fleming (‘45’), L Moran, J Gahan, R Keyes 0-1 each. Naas CBS: M McGovern 0-6 (5f), J Dalton 0-3, K Quinn, A Beirne, S Murphy 0-2 each.

St Joseph’s, Rochfortbridge: Jamie Mulkearns; Kenny Ruzzell, Ciaran Daly (sixth year), Liam Moran; Michael McCormack, Josh Gahan, Ciaran Daly (fifth year); Niall Smullen, Rory Keyes; Brandon Kelly, Shane Fleming, Podge Quinn; Devin Hill, Aaron Kellaghan, Jack Torpey. Subs used: Sami Clark for Keyes (59 mins), Evan Rigney for Ruzzell (60).

Naas CBS: David Morrissey; Mark Maguire, Conan Boran, Paddy Kelly; Kevin Quinn, Adam Malone, Paddy McDermott; Drew Costello, Eoin Archbold; Nicholas Sweeney, Alex Beirne, Sam Morrissey; Mikey McGovern, Simon Murphy, James Dalton. Subs used: Ferran O’Sullivan for Kelly (41 mins), Sean McLoughlin for Sweeney (52), Neil Aherne for Archbold (52).

Referee: Patrick Coyle (Meath).

More from this Topic