League champions Birr Town set sights on the double

Newly crowned league champions Birr Town will be bidding to win a coveted double when they face Towerhill Rovers of Portlaoise in the Combined Counties Cup final in Mountmellick this Sunday.

Shane Corboy's side clinched the CCFL Senior Division title on Wednesday night of last week with a 9-0 rout of an understrength Clara Town side. There were hat-tricks for both Nathan Williams and David McEvoy and further goals from Nicky Molloy, Declan Cahill and Ronan Bergin.

In Birr's march to the league title, the key game was probably a recent 1-0 away win against Derry Rovers – a result which swung the pendulum very much in favour of the south Offaly side.

Birr defeated Mountmellick 2-1 in their Combined Counties Cup semi-final, played in Birr last weekend. For their part, Towerhill Rovers claimed a 2-0 win over Temple Villa of Westmeath in their semi-final.

In the quarter-finals, Birr needed a penalty shoot-out to overcome Mullingar Town after the game had finished 1-1 in 90 minutes, with Nicky Molloy having scored the Offaly side's goal. Birr keeper Conor Hogan saved the last kick from his opposite number Mickey Loran to seal a 5-4 victory in the shoot-out.

The Combined Counties Cup final will take place behind closed doors on Sunday in Conor Davis Park, Mountmellick, with kick-off at 3pm. The winners will be presented with the John Farrell Combined Counties Cup.

The final will be streamed, with the relevant link to be provided on the CCFL Facebook page.

CCFL Fixtures

Saturday, September 12

Division 2

BBC Utd v Banagher Utd, Cadamstown Hall, Clonagh, Cadamstown, 5.30pm.

Under-19 Premier Division

Mullingar Athletic v Willow Park, Gainstown, Mullingar, 2.30pm.

Sunday, September 13

Combined Counties Cup Final

Towerhill Rovers v Birr Town, Conor Davis Park, Mountmellick, 3pm.

CCFL Women’s Shield Final

Birr Town v Mountmellick Utd, Leah Victoria Park, Tullamore, 12pm.

Denis Delaney Division 2 Cup Final

Temple Villa v Coolraine, Stanley O’Hara Park, Clara, 12pm.

Division 3 Plate Final

Maryborough FC v Midlands Celtic, Rossleighan Park, Portlaoise, 11am.

More from this Topic