Conroy among nominees for player of the year award

Pictured above: Jordan Conroy with Ireland coach Anthony Eddy after he was selected on the World Series 'Dream Team'.

Tullamore's Jordan Conroy is one of three players nominated for the Ireland Men’s 7s Player of the Year award.

Conroy was the overall top try scorer in Ireland’s debut campaign in the Men’s World Series.

He was also selected on the the World Series 'Dream Team' by virtue of his excellent displays throughout the series.

With his pace and try scoring ability, Conroy impressed for Buccaneers in the All-Ireland League before his 7s commitments took priority.

Last year’s winner Terry Kennedy and Harry McNulty are the other players nominated for the 7s award along with Conroy.

Celebrating the achievements of Irish rugby players both on and off the field, the Zurich Irish Rugby Players Awards will be broadcast on Virgin Media Two on Saturday, October 17 after the Champions Cup final.

Rugby Players Ireland Executive Board member Louise Galvin and rising rugby star Caelan Doris announced the nominees for the awards this week.

Galvin said: “As ever, we have had good days and bad but it’s important not to let the 2019/20 season be forgotten. As the year has panned out, we have learned more about ourselves this year than any other. It’s important to reflect and acknowledge the achievements and challenges of a unique season."

The full list of award nominees is as follow below.

Zurich Players’ Player of the Year

James Lowe, Garry Ringrose, Andrew Conway, John Cooney.

Nevin Spence Young Player of the Year

Caelan Doris, Ryan Baird, Shane Daly.

Women’s XV Player of the Year

Cliodhna Moloney, Linda Djougang, Edel McMahon.

Women’s 7s Player of the Year

Louise Galvin, Kathy Baker, Amee-Leigh Murphy Crowe.

Men’s 7s Player of the Year

Jordan Conroy, Terry Kennedy, Harry McNulty.

Try of the Year

Andrew Conway (Munster v Ospreys), John Cooney (Ulster v Clermont), Robin Copeland (Connacht v Gloucester).

Zurich Contribution to Society Award

Ultan Dillane, Billy Holland, Andrew Porter.

More from this Topic