Offaly teams named for Derry and Kildare games

The Offaly hurling and football teams for this weekend's Christy Ring Cup and Leinster championship games - against Derry and Kildare respectively - have been named.

Michael Fennelly belatedly takes charge of his first championship game as Offaly hurling manager when his side take on Derry in Newry today (Saturday), throw-in 1.30pm.

The winner of the Round 2B game will advance to the semi-finals of the Christy Ring Cup, while the loser will bow out.

Offaly football boss John Maughan has made two changes to the team which defeated Carlow last Sunday, with Joseph O'Connor and Cian Farrell coming in for Colm Doyle and Shane Horan.

Farrell impressed as a substitute against Carlow and has been named to start the Leinster SFC quarter-final against Kildare in Portlaoise tomorrrow (Sunday, 5.30pm).

Jordan Hayes has been passed fit to play despite picking up an injury in the process of scoring a goal against Carlow.

Meanwhile, Mick O'Grady is an injury enforced absentee from Jack O'Connor's first championship selection as Kildare manager.

Offaly (Christy Ring Cup hurling v Derry)

1. Stephen Corcoran (Coolderry)

2. Damien Egan (Belmont)

3. Ben Conneely (St Rynagh’s)

4. Paddy Delaney (Kinnitty)

5. Dan Doughan (Shinrone)

6. Cillian Kiely (Kilcormac-Killoughey)

7. David King (Coolderry)

8. Eoghan Cahill (Birr)

9. David Nally (Belmont)

10. Shane Kinsella (Kinnitty)

11. Jason Sampson (Shinrone)

12. Peter Geraghty (Kilcormac-Killoughey)

13. Colm Gath (Drumcullen)

14. Oisin Kelly (Belmont)

15. Liam Langton (Clodiagh Gaels).

Subs: Subs: James Dempsey (Kinnitty), Ciaran Burke (Durrow), Brendan Murphy (Birr), David O’Toole Greene (Shamrocks), Sean Cleary (Shinrone), Thomas Geraghty (Kilcormac-Killoughey), Aidan Treacy (St Ryangh’s), Brian Duignan (Durrow), Ross Ravenhill (Durrow), Adrian Hynes (Seir Kieran), Kevin Dunne (Seir Kieran).

Offaly (Leinster SFC v Kildare)

1. Paddy Dunican (Shamrocks)

2. Declan Hogan (Tullamore)

3. Eoin Rigney (Rhode)

4. Niall Darby (Rhode)

5. Eoin Carroll (Cappincur)

6. Johnny Moloney (Tullamore)

9. Joseph O’Connor (St Rynagh’s)

8. Aaron Leavy (Tullamore)

9. Jordan Hayes (Edenderry)

10. Peter Cunningham (Bracknagh)

11. Ruairi McNamee (Rhode)

12. Anton Sullivan (Rhode)

13. Bernard Allen (Tubber)

14. Niall McNamee (Rhode)

15. Cian Farrell (Edenderry).

Kildare (Leinster SFC v Offaly)

1. Mark Donnellan

2. Mark Dempsey

3. Shea Ryan

4. Darragh Malone

5. David Hyland

6. Con Kavanagh

7. Kevin Flynn

8. Kevin Feely

9. Aaron Masterson

10. Fergal Conway

11. Ben McCormack

12. Paddy Brophy

13. Daniel Flynn

14. Darragh Kirwan

15. Jimmy Hyland.

More from this Topic