Offaly minor hurling manager Leo O’Connor - his side advanced to the 2020 Leinster final which has yet to be played.

Dates and venues confirmed for 2020 Leinster minor finals

There is good news for Offaly GAA fans with fixture details for the 2020 Leinster minor football and hurling finals confirmed.

The Leinster minor football final between Offaly and Meath will take place on Wednesday, June 30 at TEG Cusack Park, Mullingar.

And Saturday, July 3 has been confirmed as the date for Leinster minor hurling decider final between Offaly and Kilkenny. The venue for this final is MW Hire O'Moore Park, Portlaoise.

The two finals have both been on hold for some considerable time due to Covid-19 restrictions. But fears that the unplayed 2020 competitions would not be accommodated in this year's tight window for fixtures have now been allayed.

The GAA had already confirmed that inter-county minor and under-20 training can resume from next Monday, May 10

If Offaly defeat Meath in the Leinster MFC final, they would be in line to meet the Ulster champions in their All-Ireland semi-final. The 2020 Ulster MFC is only at the semi-final stage, with Tyrone v Derry and Fermanagh v Monaghan the last four pairings.

Connacht champions Roscommon are set to meet Munster winners Kerry in the other All-Ireland minor football semi-final.

If Offaly manage to overcome Kilkenny in the Leinster minor hurling decider, they would go straight through to the 2020 All-Ireland final against Limerick or Galway.

The 2020 Leinster U-20 HC final between Dublin and Galway has also yet to be played, with the winners to meet Cork in the All-Ireland decider.

However, there is no confirmation yet of planned dates for any All-Ireland series uncompleted from last year.

Meanwhile, Páirc Tailteann, Navan has been confirmed as the venue for Offaly's Leinster SFC first round game against Louth on Sunday, June 27.

Bord na Móna O’Connor Park in Tullamore has been chosen as the venue for the Carlow v Longford match in the same competition.

The details of the aforementioned fixtures were confirmed following a meeting of the Leinster Council's Competitions Control Committee (CCC) this week.

2020 Leinster MFC final

Offaly v Meath (Wednesday, June 30, TEG Cusack Park, Mullingar).

2020 Leinster MHC final

Offaly v Kilkenny (Saturday, July 3, MW Hire O'Moore Park, Portlaoise).

2021 Leinster SFC

Round 1 (Sunday, June 27)

Offaly v Louth (Páirc Tailteann, Navan)

Carlow v Longford (Bord na Móna O’Connor Park, Tullamore)

Wicklow v Wexford (Aughrim)


Kildare v Offaly or Louth

Meath v Carlow or Longford

Dublin v Wicklow or Wexford

Laois v Westmeath

More from this Topic