The current priest Fr Noel Weir (left) will leave the parish in July and Fr Seamus Houlihan (right) will be appointed parish priest.

New priest appointed to Tubber/Rosemount

The parish of Tubber/Rosemount is to have a new parish priest.

Offaly native Fr Seamus Houlihan will take over the border parish in July, it has been announced.

Fr Houlihan has been parish priest in Kilcormac for the past three years.

He was ordained in Tullamore in 1993, he served as curate in Athboy initially until his appointment Parish Priest of Nobber in 2000.

He replaces Fr Noel Weir, another Offaly native, who was Administrator pro-tem in the parish for the last year and will now move to Navan as a curate.

The appointment was one of a number made by the Diocese of Meath this week.

Meanwhile, Rosemount native Fr Joe Campbell has been appointed as a curate to the parish of Tullamore.

The remainder of the appointments by the Bishop of Meath Tom Deenihan, and which all come into effect on July 3, are as follows:

Fr. Jim Lynch, PP Beauparc to retire.

Fr. Derek Darby, Adm and Episcopal Vicar for Pastoral Development, Mullingar to Pastoral Development and Planning full-time for three years term.

Fr. John Conlon, PP Duleek and Adm Donore to be PP Drogheda and Adm Holy Family.

Very Reverend Michael Meade, PP Summerhill to be PP Kilcormac.

Fr. Phil Gaffney PP St. Mary’s, Drogheda to be Adm Mullingar.

Fr. Declan Kelly, PP Stamullen to be PP Kilcloon and Adm Moynalvey.

Fr. Stan Deegan, PP Kilcloon to be PP Killucan.

Fr. Brendan Ferris, PP Ardcath and Curraha to be PP Stamullen.

Fr. David Brennan, PP Moynalvey to be PP Beauparc.

Fr John Nally, PP Ashbourne on loan to the Diocese of Waterford and Lismore for three years.

Fr. Michael Kilmartin PP Longwood to be PP Ashbourne.

Fr. Mark English, PP Killucan to be PP Duleek and Adm Donore.

Fr. Kevin Heery, CC Mullingar to be CC Curraha and Ardcath.

Fr. Conor Magee CC Mullingar to be CC Multyfarnham.

Fr Januz Lugowski , Polish Chaplaincy to be CC Moynalvey in addition.

Fr Louis Illah, CC Navan to be CC Longwood.

Fr. Andrei Stolnicu, Diocese of Iasi to be CC Mullingar.

Fr. Vincent McKay, CSSp to be CC Summerhill.

Fr Paul Crosbie PP Trim to be Adm Summerhill in addition.

Fr. Thomas Gilroy, PP Kinnegad to be Adm Longwood in addition.

Fr. Gerry Stuart, PP Ratoath to be Adm Ardcath & Curraha in addition.

More from this Topic