Offaly keep the faith for Leinster U-20 semi final

Photo: Offaly goalscorer Jack Bryant and U-20 team manager Declan Kelly pictured after last week's win over Wexford. Picture: Offaly GAA.

Offaly have named an unchanged team for their Leinster Under-20 football championship semi-final against Westmeath tonight (Thursday) at TEG Cusack Park (throw-in 7.30pm).

Jack Bryant's goal from a penalty proved crucial in Offaly's narrow win over Wexford (1-10 to 1-9) in the quarter-finals.

In total, Bryant registered 1-3 against Wexford, with impressive midfielder Morgan Tynan (one free), Aaron Kellaghan (one mark) and Cormac Delaney (two frees) scoring 0-2 each. Ferbane's Cathal Flynn contributed the remaining point to Offaly's tally.

For their part, Westmeath claimed a dramatic penalty shoot-out win over Longford in their quarter-final, having defeated Kildare in the opening round.

There are many connections between the Westmeath and Offaly teams (both line-ups are listed below) in the latest instalment of this local derby.

Offaly attacker Aaron Kellaghan was captain of the St Joseph's Rochfortbridge team which won the Leinster Schools senior football 'A' title last year, and he will be in opposition to a number of former school team-mates tonight.

In addition, Offaly manager Declan Kelly is very familiar with the Westmeath football scene, having guided St Loman's Mullingar to Flanagan Cup success last year.

The other Leinster U-20 football semi-final between Meath and Dublin also takes place tonight (Thursday) at Páirc Tailteann (7.30).

EirGrid Leinster Under-20 FC semi-finals

TEG Cusack Park, Mullingar (7:30pm) Westmeath v Offaly, referee: Seamus Mulhare.

Páirc Tailteann, Navan (7:30pm) Meath v Dublin, referee: Fergal Smyth.

Offaly (Leinster U-20 FC v Westmeath):

1. Sean O'Toole (Shamrocks)

2. Fionn Dempsey (Bracknagh)

3. Kieran Dolan (Shamrocks)

4. Lee Pearson (Edenderry)

5. Rory Egan (Edenderry)

6. John Furlong (Tullamore)

7. Aaron Brazil (Shannonbridge)

8. Ed Cullen (Clara)

9. Morgan Tynan (Ballinagar)

10. Ciaran Egan (Tullamore)

11. Cathal Flynn (Ferbane)

12. Cathal Donoghue (Kilcormac/Killoughey)

13. Cormac Delaney (Clara)

14. Jack Bryant (Shamrocks)

15. Aaron Kellaghan (Rhode)


16. Killian Kavanagh (Walsh Island)

17. Cathal Ryan (Daingean)

18. Tom Hyland (Bracknagh)

19. Harry Plunkett (Tullamore)

20. Gavin Young (Rhode)

21. Darragh Flynn (Ferbane)

22. Mikey Cunningham (Bracknagh)

23. Keith O'Neill (Clonbullogue)

24. Cormac Egan (Tullamore).

Westmeath (Leinster U-20 FC v Offaly):

1. Sean Martin (Coralstown/Kinnegad)

2. Josh Gahan (Coralstown/Kinnegad)

3. Charlie Drumm (The Downs)

4. Ciaran Daly (Coralstown/Kinnegad)

5. Enda Gaffney (St Loman's Mullingar)

6. Darragh Seery (Ballinagore)

7. Michael Byrne (Athlone)

8. Jack Murtagh (Milltown)

9. Ciaran Daly (Coralstown/Kinnegad)

10. Shane Fleming (Coralstown/Kinnegad)

11. Kevin O'Sullivan (The Downs)

12. Brandon Kelly (Milltownpass)

13. Jack Torpey (Coralstown/Kinnegad)

14. Ben McGauran (Milltown)

15. Devin Hill (Killucan)


16. Michael Lynam (St Joseph's)

17. Liam Moran (The Downs)

18. Morgan Gavigan (St Malachy's)

19. Ronan Hanley (Tang)

20. Senan Baker (Caulry)

21. Jordan McDonnell (St Joseph's)

22. Stephen O'Connor (Athlone)

23. Jamie Corcoran (Tyrrellspass)

24. Kehn Ruzzell (St Mary's Rochfortbridge)

25. Darren Bitu Mnguni (Shandonagh)

26. Rory Sheahan (St Loman's Mullingar)

27. Eoghan McCabe (Tubberclair)

28. Jack Gallagher (St Malachy's)

29. Owen McCabe (Ballymore)

30. Matthew Cox (Rosemount)

31. Sean Leech (Killucan).