The full time whistle before penalties.

Penalty heartbreak for gallant Midlands

The Midland Schoolboy League team's dream of winning the Kennedy Cup outright ended in dramatic and heartbreaking fashion this evening, when they lost on penalties to perennial winners DDSL.

The Midlands put it up to the Dublin league during the Kennedy Cup quarter final, but when the game ended scoreless in normal time, it went direct to a penalty shootout where the DDSL prevailed by 3-0 with the MSL missing their first three penalties.

Nonetheless, it has been a tremendous display by the MSL who topped their group after victories over Longford (7-0) and Wicklow (8-0) before a dramatic late equaliser against South Belfast (1-1) ensured the topped the group.

The MSL Kennedy Cup Squad consists of Cian Horkan, Colin Moran, Jack Donohue, Ruairi Woods, Odhran Fletcher (vice-captain), Shay McGuinness (captain), Diarmuid O'Higgins, Dylan Dennehy, Leon Nolan, Jimmy Walsh, Sam Byrne, Ciarán Cummins, Sean Whittaker, William Geraghty, Cillian Spollen, Darragh O'Riordan, Tadhg Slattery, Sean Powders, Cian Gilhooly, Jack Dunican and Alex Byrne.

The management team includes Davy Cummins (manager) and Padraig Moran (head coach), both of whom are from St Joseph's FC.

Graham Whittaker and Conor Peck, from Willow Park FC, are also coaching the side, while Athlone Community College teacher Conor Foley is the goalkeeping coach.

Davy McCormack is kit man to the squad while Marc McGuinness is involved in a first-aid capacity.

After kicking off yesterday, the Kennedy Cup will continue until this Friday, June 17.

The Midlands will now enter the Kennedy Plate, a competition for defeated quarter finalists and meet Galway tomorrow.