Offaly quartet on minor team of year - Screeney wins overall award

Four Offaly players have been selected on the 2022 Electric Ireland GAA Minor Star Hurling Team of the Year.

In addition, Offaly's Adam Screeney has been chosen as the 2022 Electric Ireland GAA Minor Star Hurling Player of the Year. The skilful Kilcormac-Killoughey forward scored 5 goals and 51 points during Offaly’s journey to the All-Ireland final.

Both defeated finalists Offaly and winners Tipperary - who dramatically claimed victory in the final with a last-gasp goal - have four players each on the team selection.

As well as Screeney, the other Offaly players honoured on the team are James Mahon, Donal Shirley (both defenders) and Dan Ravenhill (captain of the Leinster championship winning Offaly team).

Galway have three representatives while both Laois and Clare each have two players on this year’s team. The team was selected by a panel of GAA experts and was determined in part by Electric Ireland’s ‘Minor Moments of the Week’ initiative on Twitter.

Uachtarán CLG Larry McCarthy said: “I am delighted to, once again, have the opportunity to extend my congratulations to the Electric Ireland GAA Minor Hurling Team of the Year, with a special mention for Adam Screeney, the well-deserved recipient of the Electric Ireland GAA Minor Hurling Player of the Year. Fans turned out in large numbers to support our Minor players this season and we were fortunate to see the skills of these outstanding players. I look forward to watching the next chapter of their playing careers.”

Sarah Sharkey, Brand, PR and Sponsorship Manager at Electric Ireland, said: “Each member of the team has contributed enormously to what has been an outstanding season of Minor hurling. Electric Ireland would also like to give a special mention to the Electric Ireland Minor Hurling Player of the Year, Adam Screeney, who lit up this year’s championship with his incredible scoring displays for Offaly, during their exciting journey to the final.”

2022 Electric Ireland GAA Minor Hurling Team of the Year

1. Donagh Fahy (Galway and Ardrahan)

2. Ciarán Flynn (Laois and The Harps)

3. James Mahon (Offaly and Kilcormac-Killoughey)

4. Eoghan Gunning (Clare and Broadford)

5. Sam O’Farrell (Tipperary and Nenagh Éire Óg)

6. James Hegarty (Clare and Inagh-Kilnamona)

7. Donal Shirley (Offaly and Tubber)

8. Rory Burke (Galway and Oranmore/Maree)

9. Adam Daly (Tipperary and Knockavilla-Donaskeigh Kickhams)

10. Ben Deegan (Laois and Camross)

11. Dan Ravenhill (Offaly and Durrow)

12. Paddy McCormack (Tipperary and Borris-Ileigh)

13. Aaron Niland (Galway and Clarinbridge)

14. Tom Delaney (Tipperary and Cahir)

15. Adam Screeney (Offaly and Kilcormac-Killoughey).