The Ireland U-17 women's team which drew with Portugal in a recent friendly, with Millie Daly in the back row (number 11) and Ellen Dolan in the front row (no. 8).

Offaly duo named on Ireland U17 squad for Euro qualifiers

Offaly duo Millie Daly and Ellen Dolan have been selected on the Republic of Ireland U17 women’s squad who begin their bid to qualify for next year’s UEFA European Championships this Friday.

Ballinagar's Daly is a former Killeigh player and now plays for Athlone Town, while Dolan is currently with Peamount United, having previously played for Mucklagh.

Both Dolan and Daly played for Ireland in two friendlies against Portugal recently.

Daly scored on her international debut in the first of the friendlies against Portugal and Dolan was involved in the build-up to the goal. In a game played at Estádio Nacional do Jamor in Lisbon, Daly peeled off her marker to control a chipped pass from Dolan, before beating goalkeeper Adelaide Paredes with a lobbed effort.

The game ended in a 3-3 draw, with both Ellen and Millie also starting a second friendly against Portugal, who won 1-0 in Cidade do Futebol.

James Scott’s Ireland squad is now preparing for the UEFA European WU17 Championship Qualifiers. They will travel to Northern Ireland for three Group 3 games which will see them face the hosts as well as Austria and Finland in Round 1.

The Republic of Ireland will play Austria on Friday, October 21 (kick-off 2pm), Finland on Monday, October 24 (12pm) and Northern Ireland on Thursday, October 27 (2pm). All games will be held in Seaview.

Ireland will be trying to make it to Round 2, which will be played in early 2023, and the ultimate goal is to reach the finals tournament in Estonia next May.

Republic of Ireland U17 women's squad

Goalkeepers: Katie Keane (Shelbourne), Niamh Richardson (Peamount United).

Defenders: Aoife Turner (Mountain View Los Altos), Aoibhe Fleming (Peamount United), Grace Fitzpatrick Ryan (Wexford Youths), Heidi Mackin (Cork City), Alice Lillie (Sligo Rovers), Keira Sena (Cork City).

Midfielders: Aoife Kelly (Shelbourne), Ellen Dolan (Peamount United), Hannah Healy (Shelbourne), Jodie Loughrey (Donegal Women’s League), Freya Healy (Peamount United), Ruby Gallagher (Shamrock Rovers), Jess Fitzgerald (Peamount United), Millie Daly (Athlone Town).

Forwards: Joy Ralph (DLR Waves), Fiana Bradley (Cork City), Katie Lawlee (Treaty United), Ceola Bergin (Wexford Youths).