Leinster GAA chairperson Pat Teehan (left), pictured taking over the badge of office from Jim Bolger in 2019. Photo: John Quirke.

Offaly's Teehan to run for GAA president

Offaly's Pat Teehan has entered the race to become the next GAA president.

The Offaly GAA management committee confirmed that it was nominating Teehan at a meeting held last night (Tuesday).

A respected figure in GAA circles, Teehan has gained extensive experience from serving in a variety of roles over the years. The Coolderry man has served as Leinster Council chairperson for the past three years, with Wexford's Derek Kent due to take over that role at the provincial convention early next year.

A former club secretary of Coolderry, Teehan served as Offaly GAA chairman for five years between 2008 and 2012, having previously been the county's Central Council delegate and a long-serving PRO.

Before becoming Leinster chairperson, he was PRO and vice-chairperson of the provincial body.

If Teehan succeeds in becoming GAA president, he would be the second Offaly man to hold the office, with Tullamore's John Dowling having served from 1988 to 1991.

When proposing Teehan for the position of GAA president, Offaly County Board chairperson Michael Duignan described him as “a hugely committed worker for the GAA who has developed the necessary knowledge and experience at all levels to drive the Association forward in the coming years”.

Teehan will be joined in race by Jarlath Burns of Armagh and Niall Erskine, with the latter having been nominated for the role by Donegal GAA.

Burns ran for the position in 2020 when he lost out to New York's Larry McCarthy, the first overseas president in GAA history.

McCarthy will hold the position until 2024, and the election of the president-elect will take place at next year's GAA Congress.

In a statement posted online, Coolderry GAA club said: "Coolderry GAA would like to wish our very own Pat Teehan the best of luck as he enters the race to become the next President of the GAA.

"Pat is in his third year as Leinster Council Chairman and he has fulfilled many other roles with both Offaly County Board and Leinster GAA for over 30 years.

"Pat has been a magnificent servant to Coolderry, Offaly and Leinster GAA over the years and is a member and former secretary of Coolderry GAA, and we are all extremely proud of his achievements to date. We urge all in Offaly, Leinster and the wider GAA community to support Pat in the upcoming election. We in Coolderry are all behind you Pat!"