The Moate CS panel from a previous game in the run up to the semi-final

Gallant Moate team pipped at All-Ireland semi-final stage

Lidl All Ireland Post Primary Schools Junior ‘A’ Ladies Football semi-final

St Mary’s, Midleton (Cork) 2-13, Moate CS 1-10

A battling performance from Moate CS fell just short against Cork side, St Mary’s, Midleton, in the Lidl All Ireland Post Primary Schools Junior ‘A’ Ladies Football semi-final at Fethard on Friday.

It was more heartbreak for Moate who lost to the same opposition in last year’s Senior ‘A’ decider.

But this contest on the all-weather Tipperary surface could have gone either way with the Westmeath girls in contention right to the end, but a strong finish from St Mary’s saw out the tie and put them through to the final.

Two first half St Mary’s goals proved crucial as they saw them lead at the break, 2-7 to 0-6. A Lauren White goal gave Moate hope in the second half and they trailed by just three points, 2-9 to 1-9, with ten minutes to go. However, St Mary’s finished the stronger, outscoring Moate four points to one in those final ten minutes.

Scorers – Moate CS: Kate Whyte 0-6, 0-3 frees; Lauren White 1-1; Lucy Champ 0-1; Alex Kelly 0-1; Eva Fox 0-1.

St Mary’s, Middleton – Ava McAuliffe 0-11, 0-7 frees; Orlaith Murphy 1-1; Faye Dunlea 1-0; Anabel O’Brien 0-1.

Moate CS – Niamh Seery, Sarah Cunniffe, Eunice David, Emily Winters, Aine Bracken, Grace Shortall, Lucy Champ, Kellie McLoughlin, Kacey Mulvihill, Katie Doolan, Kate Whyte, Lauren White, Alex Kelly, Eva Fox, Chanelle O’Neill. Subs – Neasa Trainor for Lucy Champ, Orla Ross for Sarah Cunniffe, Niamh Kelly for Chanelle O’Neill, Aoife Ross for Lauren White.

St Mary’s, Middleton – Natalia O’Connor, Tara O’Neill, Kate Saunderson, Amy Fogarty, Aimee Savage, Emily Brenner, Ava Walsh, Ava McAuliffe, Ava Coughlan, Cara Twomey, Anabel O’Brien, Faye Dunlea, Ciara O’Regan, Kate O’Sullivan, Orlaith Murphy. Subs – Molly Cullinane for Anabel O’Brien, Sorcha O’Rourke for Amy Fogarty, Caitlin Horgan for Orlaith Murphy.

Referee – Eamonn Moran (Kerry).