Current Offaly player Ellee McEvoy with 1974 All-Ireland finalists, from left, Agnes Gorman, Phyllis Price, Catherine Daly and Lucy Bryant at the launch of the TG4 Leinster LGFA Championships at Durrow Castle in Laois. Photo: Piaras Ó Mídheach/Sportsfile

Offaly football pioneers honoured at LGFA launch

The Offaly team who contested the first ever All-Ireland ladies' senior football final was celebrated at the recent launch of the 2024 Leinster LGFA championships in Durrow, Co. Laois.

Back in 1974, the very first All-Ireland final was held in Durrow where Tipperary overcame Offaly, and the launch took place in the renowned Castle Durrow hotel.

Four members of that 1974 Offaly team - Agnes Gorman, Phyllis Hackett Price, Catherine Daly and Lucy Bryant White - were in attendance at the launch, and they regaled the gathering with stories from what was a very different era.

There were also captains or representatives from all twelve Leinster counties at the launch ahead of the start of the championships this weekend.

Leinster LGFA President Trina Murray - a Moate native who has strong connections to Tubber - spoke at the launch and said she is tremendously excited to be involved at this juncture.

“We are looking forward to the start of another Leinster Championship. It is terrific to be here at Castle Durrow to acknowledge where Ladies Gaelic football started and to reflect on how much it has grown since," said Trina.

"We are especially grateful to be joined by the ladies from the 1974 team from Offaly and it has been wonderful listening to the genesis of the LGFA and how it all began all those years ago," Trina continued.

Offaly meet neighbours Westmeath at Home Instead Lakepoint Park (St Loman's, Mullingar 3G pitch) in the first round of the TG4 Leinster LGFA Intermediate Championship on Sunday (throw-in 2pm).

Offaly held their own in Division 3 of this year's LGFA National League and they will be looking to mount a strong challenge against a Westmeath side who operated in Division 2 this year.

The Offaly team for the game has been named and is listed below. The team includes Amy Gavin Mangan, who was recently chosen at midfield in this year's Division 3 Team of the League, and the team captain is Ellee McEvoy.

Offaly (team v Westmeath): L Dunne; A Grehan, M Mann, N Farrelly; R Ennis, E Maher, N Buckley; A Gavin Mangan, M Byrne; K Farrelly, E Hand, M Rouse; C Walsh, E McEvoy (captain), C Sheridan.