Offaly’s Ben Conneely controls the sliotar under pressure from Martin Phelan of Laois during the Joe McDonagh Cup clash in Portlaoise last Sunday. Photo: Ger Rogers.

Two changes in Offaly team for McDonagh Cup clash

The Offaly hurling team for the vital Joe McDonagh Cup clash against Westmeath in Tullamore tomorrow (Saturday) shows two changes in personnel from the side which lost out to Laois last Sunday (2-21 to 0-24).

It comes as little surprise that talented attacker Adam Screeney has been handed a starting place, the Kilcormac/Killoughey star having scored 0-8 (four from play) after being introduced as a substitute for the injured Eoghan Cahill against Laois.

Offaly manager Johnny Kelly and his selectors have also handed David King a place in starting XV, the Coolderry man having come on as sub last Sunday.

In addition to the aforementioned Cahill, Dan Ravenhill was also forced off through injury against Laois and neither player is listed in the match-day 26 for the clash with Westmeath.

The Offaly team is captained by Shinrone's Jason Sampson, and there are five Ballinamere players on the starting selection, namely Mark Troy, Ciaran Burke, Sam Bourke, Dan Bourke and Brian Duignan.

For his part, Westmeath hurling manager Joe Fortune has made four changes to his team for the clash with Offaly (Glenisk O'Connor Park, 3pm).

David O'Reilly, Cormac Boyle, Eoin Keyes and Ciaran Doyle come into the team as Westmeath look to bounce back from a disappointing defeat at home to Kerry (1-20 to 1-14).

Offaly (vs Westmeath): Mark Troy; Cathal King; Ciaran Burke; Ben Conneely; Killian Sampson, Cillian Kiely, Sam Bourke; Jason Sampson (captain), David King; Dan Bourke, Brian Duignan, David Nally; Adam Screeney, Charlie Mitchell, Eimhin Kelly.

Subs: Stephen Corcoran, Donal Shirley, Padraig Cantwell, Ross Ravenhill, Jack Clancy, Leon Fox, Dara Maher, Luke Watkins, Oisin Kelly, Paul Cleary, Jack Screeney.

Westmeath (vs Offaly): Noel Conaty; Johnny Bermingham, Tommy Doyle, Kevin Regan; Darragh Egerton, Aonghus Clarke, Robbie Greville; Cormac Boyle, Charlie McCormack; Joey Boyle, Killian Doyle, David O'Reilly; Niall Mitchell, Eoin Keyes, Ciaran Doyle.

Subs: Jamie Mulkearns, Aaron Craig, Peter Clarke, Shane McGovern, David Williams, Jordy Smyth, Owen McCabe, Conor Gaffney, Jack Gillen, Darragh Clinton, Davy Glennon.