Mayo to face Derry in preliminary quarter-final

Michael Bolton

Mayo will face Derry next weekend in the preliminary quarter-finals of the All-Ireland football championship.

Mayo finished second in their group after a last second point from Cormac Costello saw them draw with Dublin, while Derry finished third after just one win in the championship so far.

Connacht champions Galway, who were also held to a draw after a late score from Armagh, will host Monaghan after their win over Meath.

Tyrone are at home to Roscommon, after their win over Cavan ensured they remained in the championship, while Louth will host Cork in the final preliminary quarter-final.

The times and dates of the fixtures will be announced later on Monday.

Fixture details for the All-Ireland Hurling Championship quarter-finals and Tailteann Cup semi-finals have been confirmed.

The hurling matches will be played this Saturday in Semple Stadium with Dublin against Cork at 1.15pm followed by Clare facing Wexford at 3.15pm.

In the Tailteann Cup, Croke Park on Sunday hosts Antrim against Laois at 2pm followed by Down taking on Sligo at 4pm.